Eber's auto upgrading function allows you to automatically upgrade your customers to the next tier based on their spending or point accumulation. Not only will this make your customer feel more competitive, but it will also make your customer feel more valuable for being a part of your programme.

Aside from that, an auto downgrade function is offered to return less active members to the default tier, allowing you to preserve your best marketing strategy and benefits for higher tier members.

On this page :

  • To set an Auto Upgrade Rule

  • To set an Auto Downgrade Rule

  • To Edit or To Delete A Rule

  • A Brief Overview of Advance Setting


Loyalty > Membership > Settings > Auto Upgrade/Downgrade.

Under the "Auto Upgrade/Downgrade" tab, click [ + Create ] and you will be taken to a new page. From here, you can decide whether to set an upgrade and/or downgrade rule, as well as the rule's criteria and conditions.


(1) To set an Auto Upgrade Rule

(I) From the dropdown list, select the desired member tier.

(II) Select "Spend" or "Earn Points", next, enter the value in "More than X amount/points in the previous X days".

(III) Choose the next member tier to upgrade to.

(V) Hit [ Save ] to enable the auto upgrading rule. Done!

Screenshot at Jan 09 00-46-21
Screenshot at Jan 09 00-45-49

Optional :

  • If an upgraded member receives reward(s), select the "Reward" from dropdown list to trigger the reward(s).

  • If an upgraded member receives a point award, put the value in "Issue Points".

  • To notify the member, you can send an email (pre-setup in the Messaging feature) by tagging it under "Email Message".

  • You can also compose an SMS to notify a member under "SMS Message".


(2) To set an Auto Downgrade Rule

(I) From the dropdown list, select the desired member tier.

(II) Select "Spend" or "Earn Points", next, enter the value in "Less than X amount/points in the previous X days".

(III) Choose the member tier to downgrade to.

(V) Hit [ Save ] to enable the auto downgrade rule. Done!

Optional :

  • If a downgraded member receives reward(s), select the "Reward" from dropdown list to trigger the reward(s).

  • If a downgraded member receives a point award, put the value in "Issue Points".

  • To notify the member, you can send an email (pre-setup in the Messaging feature) by tagging it under "Email Message".

  • You can also compose an SMS to notify a member under "SMS Message".

Screenshot at Jan 09 00-46-21
Screenshot at Jan 09 01-07-56

Please keep in mind that only one upgrade and one downgrade rule can be accommodated at the same time. This means that if you choose the "Spend" condition for a specific tier, you cannot configure "Earn Points" for other tiers.

Also, depending on your business needs, you can have only upgrade rules and no downgrade rules.


To Edit or To Delete A Rule

You will be able to see the rules from the main page once you have completed the condition setup.

Click the "Pencil" icon to edit the rule.

Click the "Minus" icon to delete the rule.


A Brief Overview of Advance Setting

When you click in to the rule that you established, you will notice your rule now have 2 tabs - The one you configured initially is under "General", while there's new tab under "Advanced".

Advance settings are optional and are mostly used for downgrade rules or revamping programme structure such as:

  • "Only include Points or Spending after this date" - For programme structure changes that do not affect existing members.

  • "Member tier remained unchanged for X days" - To prevent members from dropping multiple tiers at the same time).

  • "Run on specific date"

  • "Change member status to "Inactive" upon downgrade"

  • "Reduce member points to X amount upon downgrade"

Configuring the advance setting may be complicated based on your rules. If you wish to learn more about it, please contact our Customer Success team for guidance.

Did this answer your question?